MDU ROHTAK PROGRAMMES DETAILED   SYLLABUS   The Maharshi Dayanand University initially known as Rohtak University, Rohtak was established by  an Act of Legislature of Haryana in 1976 with the object to promote inter-discipline higher studies  and research in the field of environmental, ecological and life sciences, initially it was a unitary and  residential University, however, its character was changed to an affiliating University. It was named  after the great revolutionist and social reformer Maharshi Dayanand and came to be known as  Maharshi Dayanand University, Rohtak. The University Grants Commission recognized this  University under section 2(f) for the recognition of degrees and under section 12(b) of the University  Grants Commission Act for central grants on Feb.2, 1983.  The University is situated at Rohtak, a rapidly growing town and district headquarter about 75 kms.  From Delhi on Delhi- Hisar National Highway (NH-10). It is at a distance of about 240 kms. From  Chandigarh, the State Capital. It is well connected by rail and road. Rohtak is a very educationally  forwarded town, where facilities of education in all fields are available. Besides the prestigious Pt.  Bhagwat Dayal Post Graduate Institute of Medical Sciences & Research, there are as many as 29  Colleges in Rohtak city alone which include one Govt. Dental College, 3 Colleges of Education, 7  Degree Colleges, 3 Girls Colleges and 10 Ayurveda and other Professional Colleges. Rohtak is  known for its biggest whole-sale cloth market in Northern India.   JURISDICTION The jurisdiction of the University extends to the districts of Rohtak, Jhajjar, Bhiwani, Mohindergarh,  Gurgaon, Faridabad, Sonepat and Rewari and all institutions/Colleges of General Education,  Engineering, Technology, Pharmacy, Computer Sciences, Dental Sciences, Ayurveda located in these  districts are affiliated to this University. In the matter of medical education, the jurisdiction of the  University extends to whole of Haryana. Maharaja Agarssain Institute of Medical Sciences &  Research, Agroha (Distt. Hisar) is also affiliated to this University.   CAMPUS The University Campus is spread over a sprawling area of over 700 acres. The boundary of the  campus extends from Rohtak-Delhi Road to Rohtak-Delhi railway line and from Pt. BDS PGIMS to  Western Yamuna Canal. The campus is well laid with numerous buildings and wide road network. It  presents a spectacle of harmony in architecture and natural beauty. There are as many as 10  teaching Blocks, 8 Hostels, a Central Library, Campus School, Health Centre, Faculty House, Sports  Stadium, Community Centre, Swimming Pool, Shopping Complex and an Administrative Block. More  than 379 residential houses are available for faculty members and non-teaching staff. Construction of  a magnificent Auditorium & Mulipurpose Gymnasium Hall, will be ready by the beginning of the  session. A Branch of State Bank of India and Central Co-operative Bank are available on the  Campus. ACCREDITATION BY NATIONAL ASSESSMENT AND ACCREDITATION COUNCIL (NAAC) The University Grants Commission has an autonomous National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC), which has been assigned the task of accreditation and assessment of the Universities and colleges. The Peer Team of the NAAC visited the University in February, 2003 for assessment and accreditation of the University. On the basis of the report submitted by the team, the National Assessment and Accreditation Council has graded Maharshi Dayanand Univesity B++ Grade with institutional score of 80.25. The Peer Team was highly impressed by the infrastructure facilities available in the University. It made remarkable comments about the teaching-learning and evaluation system of the University. It also observed that the University has developed potential for achieving © 2011 Success Technology Group(Soc.)
LOCATION About University